Spot the difference

After a fair amount of research to guard against amateur mistakes I’ve removed the bicycle’s cranks and got in deep and dirty with the bottom bracket. One curious thing was that I accidentally tried to unscrew the adjusting cup forgetting to loosen the lock ring, expecting a bit of a fight – it came right off! I didn’t really know what to expect, but was happily greeted with a huge greasy mess. At least they hadn’t been sparing with the lubrication. Having taken off the adjustable cup and removed the axle I had a look at the bearing races, and here’s what I found. I wonder if you can tell the difference? 

 

Leave a Reply

