Birthday singles, part 1: 1982-1986

I’ve been thinking about things to populate this blog with other than bicycle fiddling, and I’ve had a couple of ideas (one will appear in a couple of days), one of which is around music. I think my sister did this a while ago to compile a playlist for her 30th birthday party, so here’s my very own birthday playlist.

The rules are simple:

  1. it was in the UK top 40 on my birthday that year.
  2. I can’t choose the same artist more than once
  3. It has to be a song I know without looking it up (otherwise I’d have to go through over 1,000 records…)
  4. There has to be a YouTube video available (otherwise you won’t have a chance to hear the songs)

1982: #26 – David Bowie – Cat People (Putting Out Fire)

1983: #25 – Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)

1984: #29 – Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Relax

1985: #12 – Glen Frey – The Heat Is On

1986: #4 – Queen – A Kind of Magic

Leave a Reply

