Gallery

His n’ hers

So I’m writing this in late November but publishing it today as I don’t want to spoil the surprise. Here’s the bike I’ve bought my girlfriend for Christmas! It needs a little TLC but I’ve got a month or so to spruce it up. A perfect matching pair with my own bike, so perfect the age difference between them is the same as that between me and my girlfriend!

I really like the curved top tube, and to be fair I went to quite some pains to get it. At the end of a long day’s work I drove down to Romford to pick it up, then back – fully 244 miles in an evening. The frame’s OK but one thing I hadn’t bargained on was the lighter paint showing up rust spots more. Let’s hope she likes it!

   
    
    
 

Update: I’m now writing on Christmas Eve. The bike’s had two new Schwalbe Delta Cruiser white wall tyres, a new sprung saddle, a new ding-dong bell, a pump and I found a white cricket bat grip to make a mudflap with. It’s all been cleaned up and adjusted, and to be honest I’m a little jealous as I think her bike’s in slightly better nick than my own…

   

    
  
 Update 2: I think she likes it!

  

One thought on “His n’ hers

Leave a Reply

