Lord of the rings

A brief one today. My new chainrings arrived, and thank heavens, they were the right BCD for the crank. Curiously when I got them out I was somewhat dismayed that they appeared to be aluminium, and therefore more prone to wear. I got my magnet out and yes, they are aluminium… but so are the original chainrings! I’d assumed those were steel as there’s very little sign of wear on them. Perhaps this means my bike hasn’t actually gone that far prior to my ownership? Or perhaps they’re hardier than I give them credit for. There’s a slight weight saving over the originals but I think that’s just the lack of a chainguard.

I whacked them on the bike as soon as possible, and I had a little ride of only just over a mile to test them out, joining my fiancée and her maid of honour for dinner at Pizza Hut. The bike looks a little alien with the new rings, also lacking the chainguard that the old rings had fixed to them. I was expecting a bit of a jump in gearing starting out on the 53, but by the time I got there I’d practically forgotten about it. I was early so I rode around the housing estate nearby, it shifted fine from big to small (40) and I prefer the size of the jump now, that should work nicely when I suddenly encounter a steep hill. 

Changing back to the big ring I wondered wether it would take, but it picked the chain up ok and I was just about to congratulate myself on a decent change when the chain came completely off the ring! Thankfully I’d taken the precaution of not testing it in a situation where it was likely to cause a problem, and I stopped to refit the chain and resolved to adjust the limit screws when I got home. I think the chainguard has been spoiling me a bit. If all else fails I can put the 52 back on, as while so far I like the feel of the 53 I’m more interested in the climbing abilities of the 40. It just depends how reliably I can get the front derailleur to work.

3 thoughts on “Lord of the rings

  1. A small limit screw adjustment should have that fixed right up for you. For the aluminum chain rings, they’re quite resilient as long as the chain is replaced before it stretches too much from age and depending on the quality of lube one uses. I have 11,000 miles on my good bike and the rings still look quite good. I imagine I’ll get another 9,000 or so out of them.

    Like

    • Yeah I think I’ve fixed it, didn’t have time for a test ride though. I’ve been looking into waxing my chains as with the amount of dampness my bike tends to experience, and the sheer amount of dirt that came out of the chain I recently took off and cleaned, I think it might be the way to go.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Boeshield T-9. One of the best dry lubes there is. I use it on all of my mountain bikes, my rain bike, my wife’s bike and the tandem. It’s great stuff.

        Like

Leave a Reply

